VIADORÉE RETAIL PARK

+ infos
Anse et Pommiers
back
    CLIENT
    Group Duval
    PROGRAM
    Retail park
    SURFACE AREA
    17 000 sqm
    SCHEDULE
    Ongoing
    MISSION
    Complete
    COST
    €11M excl. VAT

The communes of Anse and Pommiers to the south of Villefranche-sur-Saône, boast grapevine-covered hillsides that slope gently down from west to east towards the Saône River. The resulting landscape is, of course, characteristic of French wine country, featuring rigorously straight rows of vines that follow the gradient of the hills down to the road.

On this site, we have an ongoing construction project for a commercial building inspired by the local topography. Featuring a roof whose folded protuberances all point in the same direction, the structure emerges from the hillside in such a way that the roof forms a kind of natural prolongation of the terrain, whose shape and outline it mirrors. Hidden beneath the roofing, a retail programme is planned. The clapboard facades of these stores will be a nod in the direction of the large granges typical of the region’s farm architecture.

The architecture of the building itself derives from this contextual approach. With its origami effect, the roof, featuring flora laid out in a natural style, gives the impression that the landscape folds organically before breaking apart on the line described by the awnings and facades. In reality, these folds furnish the space for sheds that provide the shopping areas with natural light and, in places, support for solar panels. The facades are composed of vertical cover plate clapboard made using an ancient technique once applied to building walls for farm buildings. In the section marking the limit of the roof, the shop windows provide irregular openings, redolent of troglodytic grottoes. In contrast, the treatment of these windows is radically contemporary, associating methacrylate walls and glass access bays to the retail units, thus creating an interplay between opalescence and transparency.

The ensemble includes other buildings, located further away from the hillside. Of a similar architectural stamp, they serve as beacons for the complex, signalling its presence with their zinc roofs, a task in which they are aided by the fact that they are taller than the main building. They also host a number of restaurants near the main entrance to the site.

VIADORÉE

+ infos
Anse et Pommiers
retour
    MAÎTRISE D’OUVRAGE
    Groupe Duval
    PROGRAMME
    Retail Park
    SURFACE
    17 000 m²
    CALENDRIER
    En cours
    MISSION
    Complète
    MONTANT DES TRAVAUX
    11 M€ HT

Les communes d’Anse et de Pommiers, au sud de Villefranche sur Saône, présentent des coteaux viticoles qui descendent en pente douce d’ouest en est vers la Saône, qui peuvent s’inscrire dans les AOC de Beaujolais et de Bourgogne. Le paysage qui en résulte est bien sûr caractéristique de la vigne : on y lit des alignements rigoureux de plants, suivant les pentes des collines, qui descendent jusqu’à la route. C’est cette géométrie qui inspire notre projet, composé de plis de toiture de même orientation, venant prendre naissance dans le talus même, si bien que la toiture du bâtiment forme comme une prolongation naturelle du terrain, dont elle épouse la forme et le tracé. En dessous, dissimulé, se trouve un programme de locaux commerciaux dont les façades de clins de bois les apparentent à de grandes granges, annexes des fermes de la région.
L’architecture du bâtiment découle de cette approche contextuelle : la toiture est végétalisée « au naturel », donnant l’impression de continuer la pente du coteau, avec un effet d’origami, comme si le paysage se pliait avant de se briser sur la ligne des auvents et des façades. En réalité, ces pliures permettent de créer des sheds qui éclairent naturellement les espaces commerciaux, et portent également par endroits des panneaux solaires. Les façades sont constituées de clins de bois verticaux à couvre-joints, selon une technique ancienne de réalisation de parois de bâtiments agricoles. Les vitrines commerciales découpent dans la faille que dessine la limite du bâtiment des ouvertures irrégulières, que l’on pourrait assimiler à des grottes troglodytiques. Le traitement de ces vitrines, par contraste, est radicalement contemporain: il associe des parois en méthacrylate et des baies d’accès aux commerces en verre, créant un jeu entre opalescence et transparence.
L’ensemble comporte d’autres bâtiments, séparés du coteau : ceux-là, même s’ils gardent la même architecture, ont des toitures de zinc, montent un peu plus haut que les autres et jouent en conséquence un rôle signalétique dans l’ensemble immobilier. C’est d’ailleurs dans ces bâtiments que se trouve les restaurants du projet, à l’articulation avec l’accès au site.